Snowball Calculator

(image credit)

Are you like lots of other Americans who have credit card debt? I have to admit I’m part of the statistic. Although, I’d like to think I’m part of a smaller statistic who got into this mess as a means to stay afloat during a rough patch and not as a result of mindless shopping sprees trying to keep up with the Joneses or the Kardashians or whoever people are trying to keep up with.

We didn’t buy any LCD tvs or vacations or fancy-schmancy clothes. We were barely living on part-time income while I was in school full time. Our families helped with what they could and I did not expect any more than that. That was more than generous. I used student loans for the majority of my school expenses. I didn’t qualify to even apply for most scholarships because I was not a traditional student (I went back at 22) and not a minority. The ones I did apply for I did not win. Luckily, I did get a small grant from the state.

Being in a dental hygiene program is not like getting a regular degree in terms of cost. There are extra technology fees, which are somewhat common. Then there is the cost of scrubs, equipment, board exams, etc. Our initial kit of instruments and other supplies was $1000. Add on replacement costs to that as needed. Then to take the board exams to get your license that’s another grand at least. (And hope you pass them on the first try! I was so relieved I did!)

So I ended up with a degree and a good profession and a rather large hole to dig out of. That digging happens a little more slowly that I would like since there are way more hygienists in this area than jobs, but hopefully that will get better in time as the economy improves and more people want their teeth cleaned again. Fingers crossed.

So, I’ve recently started using this snowball debt calculator at Whatsthecost.com. I think it’s one of the better calculators out there for keeping track of your snowball. There’s no messing around with a spreadsheet. This is a big positive for me since I’ve forgotten everything I learned about spreadsheets in high school. (Well, I do remember how to alphabetize a list, that’s about all. I think we spent most of that class time making our graphs look pretty.) This site will help you calculate how long it will take to pay off your cards. You can choose to pay them off in balance order or by highest interest rate. You can also enter payments and fees and hopefully watch the balances get smaller and smaller. It will save all your information so you don’t have to download anything. You can even set up reminder emails so you don’t forget to enter payments!

I’m due to enter payments tomorrow. Progress!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Hey, first of all, thanks for liking my blog post!

    Secondly–props to you for going to school and getting yourself a good job, even in the face of debt. I hope it all works out for you and that you’re able to pay it off in a reasonable amount of time. I’m in college right now, and even though I was lucky enough not to have to take out loans to pay for school, I know a lot of people in a similar situation to yours.

    Good luck! And keep blogging; you’re a good writer đŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

