What are you reading?

I am thankful that reading is a cheap hobby. Well, it is as long as you borrow or get used books rather than pay full retail. It’s been a while since I had really gotten into a book. I have about five laying around that I’ve started and just was not interested in enough to bother going back to them. At least not yet. So I stopped at the library on the way home from work on Friday and picked up this hunk of what I am sure is going to be awesomeness:

 

The last two books I read that I didn’t want to put down were Ken Follett books: The Pillars of the Earth and World Without End. Have you read them? Did you see The Pillars of the Earth miniseries? I was so excited to watch it but during the whole thing I keep yelling at the tv: “That didn’t happen like that in the book!!!” Hubby was all: “Geez, calm down!” And I’m all: “But Jack wasn’t even there when that happened!” Et cetera. There were so many changes I could hardly enjoy it, but I guess if you hadn’t read it or hadn’t read it lately it would be a lot better.

Have you read any of these? What else do you recommend? Do you hate it when they have to chop up books to fit into a movie?

 

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Glad to hear I am not the only person who liked Pillars of the Earth. I just finished it 4/13. I will admit it was slow to start for me but I kept at it and glad I did. I have moved on to World without End and am having the same experience it is a little slow but I hope it will be rewarding like Pillars. I am not sure I would want to watch the miniseries after the way you described it. Because YES I too hate it when they have to chop up a book to fit it into a movie. I love all things printed but don’t have time to sit and read so I listen to audio books while I commute. Very rewarding to lose yourself in a book while stuck in traffic – as others around me cuss and swear I am laughing or crying or otherwise lost in my book!

    Reply
    • In my opinion, if you liked Pillars, you’ll like World Without End, too. Even though it’s set a couple generations or so after Pillars, it’s still basically set in a similar time period with similar storytelling. I think you could still enjoy the miniseries, it’s just that those changes really jump out at you if you’ve read the book recently enough to remember the little things. It IS neat to actually see the cathedral being built. I think it seems much more massive and beautiful than I was picturing as I read. I’m going see the World Without End miniseries when our library gets it eventually. By then I probably won’t remember the little details so I bet it will be more enjoyable.

      I have to laugh about your comments on having an audio book in the car. I started Pillars by using an audio book but then I switched to reading because my commute isn’t that long and I wanted to get to the next chapter sooner! Anyways, I was still on the audio book when a certain character died and here I am bawling my eyes out while driving and I was so thankful I didn’t get pulled over and no one saw me. HA! I’m not normally like that, but it must have been a rough day or something, lol.

      Happy reading/listening!

      Reply
  1. Saturday Morning « Textured Road
  2. This week « Textured Road

Leave a Reply

